View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
14645Bug reports[All Projects] Data Entry (non public)public2019-03-13 17:54
ReporterroutardAssigned Todominikvitt 
PrioritynoneSeverityblock 
Status resolvedResolutionfixed 
Product Version3.15.x 
Target VersionFixed in Version3.16.x 
Summary14645: Unable to update some participants options when using batch-edit menu
Description

Hi!
I have an old survey with participants and a new surey (which is actually a copy).
The participants have fulfilled the old survey so the fields like 'invitation' and 'reminder' have various values (eg. 0, 1 or 2 for reminder count).
I export the old participants list and import them into the new survey.
Then I when to 'reset' some of their attributes: completed, invitation, reminder, count...
There are 2 main bugs.

1/ for the reminder count it's impossible to reset it to 0: the values remain the same as before; when I select the checkbox and enter "0" in the field 'reminder count' then 'Apply', I have the message "Nothing to update" (surprisingly, when I do the same with 'Uses left', it works, even with '0' value)

2/ still in the batch-edit participant menu, there is a bug with the 3 fields: 'Completed?', 'Invitation sent?' and 'Reminder sent?'. When I want to update them, if I only select the checkbox in front of them, the yes/no bouton because active and by default the value is 'No'. I was supposing that clicking then on 'Apply' would do the job but in fact it doesn't. For example with 'Completed?': when doing this, the participant doesn't appear completed any more in the list but when editing a specific participant, his survey is still 'Completed' with timesamp equal to zero (see joined file for better explanation). To really update the 'Completed' field to 'No' for all, you have to open the batch-edit munu, select one of the fields (eg. 'Completed'); then clicking on 'Yes', then clicking again on 'No' and only after 'Apply' the changes.

Steps To Reproduce

See joined file

TagsNo tags attached.
Complete LimeSurvey version number (& build)Version 3.16.0+190225
I will donate to the project if issue is resolvedNo
BrowserFirefox
Database & DB-Versionmysqlnd 5.0.12-dev
Server OS (if known)Linux webm777.mp.ha.ovh.net 4.14.66-ovh-vps-grsec-zfs-classid #1 SMP Thu Aug 23 15:15:40 CEST 2018 x86_64
Webserver software & version (if known)Apache
PHP Version7.2.14

Activities

routard

routard

2019-03-13 15:43

reporter  

batchedit.jpg (484,769 bytes)
routard

routard

2019-03-13 15:46

reporter   ~50949

mistake while writing : 'the yes/no bouton BECOMES active' (and not 'the yes/no bouton because active')

dominikvitt

dominikvitt

2019-03-13 16:57

developer   ~50957

Issue about not being able to change "Reminder count" field is now fixed:
https://github.com/LimeSurvey/LimeSurvey/commit/85a778db4a85e9f8425a95af401c34f734caaefb

Second issue isn't really a bug but expected behaviour.
Checkbox is only used to enable or disable updating of selected fields.
Once that field is enabled, user can change value for that field.
Value must not be changed automatically, because if changed automatically and user doesn't know about it, participant data could be lost.
It is much safer to have it working as it is now.

routard

routard

2019-03-13 17:54

reporter   ~50964

I see your point of vue but:

  • when enable checkbox 'Completed?' for example, as you have to deliberately click on the checbox so that the Yes/No button becomes active and automatically selects 'No', it's not that obvious that the survey will remain completed... and after that, the participants list display is no consistent with the participants status (displayed as if it's not completed in the participants list but still completed when editing a specific participant). Clicking on 'Yes' then again on 'No' seems not obvious.
    Would it be possible not to preselect the 'No' by default when enabling one of these 3 fields, so that :
    1/ when you enable one of the 3 fields ('Completed?' or 'Invitation sent?' or 'Remind sent?') with the checkbox...
    2/ ... you are forced to select Yes or No
    3/ ... if you select yes you may choose the date
    4/ ...if you don't select yes or no, you get an error message when clicking on 'Apply'
    I seems more obvious in my opinion and won't create any doubt nor display inconsistency (as in my first joined file).

But I see yout point of view. And thanks for ur job!

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
2019-03-13 15:43 routard New Issue
2019-03-13 15:43 routard File Added: batchedit.jpg
2019-03-13 15:46 routard Note Added: 50949
2019-03-13 16:38 dominikvitt Assigned To => dominikvitt
2019-03-13 16:38 dominikvitt Status new => assigned
2019-03-13 16:57 dominikvitt Status assigned => resolved
2019-03-13 16:57 dominikvitt Resolution open => fixed
2019-03-13 16:57 dominikvitt Fixed in Version => 3.16.x
2019-03-13 16:57 dominikvitt Note Added: 50957
2019-03-13 17:54 routard Note Added: 50964